Out of Date Mates Review

Weaning. It only feels like five minutes ago we were here with Little V and we’ve recently started the weaning journey all over again with our second baby B. I’ve heard a lot of parents say they hate the weaning stage, mostly because of the mess and constant battle of attempting to actually get some of the weird smelling, bright orange mush into baby’s mouth and not all over the floor or up the walls! I have to admit though, I love it. Experimenting with different tastes and textures and watching how baby reacts to each one. The hilarious faces they pull and sheer excitement at the feel of the mushy substance between their fingers- and sometimes toes!

The thing that does bug me about weaning though  is the amount of opened jars, tubs and pots that end up in my fridge! That and the fact that I can never remember which one I opened when and end up throwing away probably perfectly fine puree’s, because I have no idea what’s in date and what’s not. That’s where Out of Date Mates come in…


One of my fellow bloggers had mentioned last week that Out of Date Mates had posted a tweet saying that they were looking for parents, who were looking to start or had recently started weaning their little one’s, to review their product. I’ll be honest, I tweeted them straight away offering to help out before I’d even looked into what the product was- anything to help with weaning is a must- right?! Well in this case- definitely!

Out of Date Mates are very handy magnets which help you keep track of which baby food you opened when, so then you know whether it can still be given to baby or if it needs throwing away. You get seven magnets, each labelled with a day of the week, and a dry wipe pen so you can write the exact time of day you opened the jar. You can then pop the magnet to the top of the jar and chuck it in the fridge- how brilliant is that?! I’ve been using mine a few days and I love them! The guys also sent me some stickers which you can use on your own pots or pouches.


They come in 3 colour choices, baby blue, baby pink or multi coloured and each set comes with a dry wipe pen which can be easily rubbed off with a damp cloth- or your finger! They cost just £9.99 for the set which I think is a bargain for the amount of times they’re going to be used and how much they’ll help me to stop wasting baby food!

You can find Out of Date Mates on their website here. They’re also on Twitter and Facebook.

Enjoy your weaning journey!

Mother Hermit xx

The guys at Out of Date Mates kindly sent me a magnet set with stickers in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are that of my own.

 

8 thoughts on “Out of Date Mates Review

  1. This is such a good idea but I’m thinking more as a little domestic helper for me – those ominous jars of furry pesto, sauces and that kind of thing. A bit like a freezer bag and pen for the modern housewife 😉 #triballove

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They are really cute! Wish something similar had been around when Georgia was weaning. Although if I’m being honest, I ended out being a bit lazy and relying on Ellas Kitchen pouches more often than not! #triballove

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment