The Kingslodge Inn- Menu Review

Okay I’m guessing by now you get how much I LOVE food?! So imagine how excited I was to be invited to The Kingslodge Inn in Durham to try their new menu! Very excited. Another perfect excuse for a date night for me and G too so we headed over there with rumbling tummies on Wednesday evening.

The Kingslodge Inn is in Durham City Centre but you honestly wouldn’t think so as it’s hidden away in beautiful quiet woodland, yet it’s only a few minutes walk from the train station and shops. The building itself is so pretty, with outdoor seating and gardens all around the property and it also has quite a good size car park.

As soon as we walked through the entrance to the restaurant we were greeted by a lovely lady who took our names and then showed us to our table. Whilst we were settling in she gave us a menu, told us the specials for the day and explained that food and drink orders were to be ordered and paid for at the bar. The inside matches the outside perfectly. The decor is that of a traditional inn, with photographs of local landmarks making you feel very comfortable. I can only imagine how gorgeous the 23 rooms upstairs are.


The menu had me stumped. I couldn’t decide what I wanted because there was so much to choose from and everything sounded gorgeous. G went for the Black Pudding topped with Poached Egg, Bacon pieces and Peppercorn sauce to start and I chose the Portobello Mushrooms (stuffed with Blue cheese and bacon lardons). I have to say that the presentation of these starters was beautiful and not what we were expecting at all. The Portobello Mushrooms were cooked perfectly, smothered in melted blue cheese but not too much to overpower the flavour of the other elements and the bacon lardons added a crunch to the dish. With G’s starter, the Black pudding was delicious and he too loved the crunch of the crisp bacon pieces. The perfectly cooked, runny yolked poached egg and peppercorn sauce worked so well with the dish and the portions of both starters were very reasonable- they’d be perfect for a light lunch!

When it came to picking the mains it was an easy decision for G- The Kingslodge Burger. As I mentioned previously in my NinjaBurger post, he has to try the burgers wherever we go. I have to admit though that I was being a bit nosy whilst we were browsing the menu to choose (because I couldn’t decide!) and noticed that a gentleman at the table across from us had ordered The Kingslodge Curry of the day which was Thai Red and it looked incredible! It didn’t disappoint. The portion size was absolutely huge, my photo doesn’t do it justice, that bowl of curry was very deep! I’m not complaining at all because it was amazing, packed full of flavour, creamy and coconutty with just the right amount of kick. The chicken was succulent and the mixture of green vegetables were very fresh and crunchy and complimented the curry perfectly. The hand cut chips, rice and naan breads were all gorgeous too and were the perfect accompaniment to the dish. I couldn’t eat it all but I gave it a good go- to be fair there wasn’t much left, I’m not one for wasting food. G’s burger was inhaled rather quickly with nothing but good comments to follow. He said that the Aberdeen Angus steak mince was so tasty, the bun was really fresh and that the coleslaw was amazing. High praise indeed from the burger connoisseur himself.

Notice the size of the curry bowl in the background!

Now by this point we were both ready to burst but the way the desserts were flying out of the kitchen we just had to try one. G opted for the Sticky Toffee Sundae- layers of Sticky Toffee Pudding, ice cream and topped off with Chantilly cream and a wafer. It looked incredible and didn’t last very long so that’s more praise from him. I opted for the Double Chocolate Brownie with vanilla ice cream, which we were later told had just been made fresh that morning and oh you could tell. It was to die for. The brownie was served warm which made it even more gooey and the extra drizzle of chocolate sauce on top didn’t hurt. I took my time with it simply because it was so beautiful, it’s not something you can rush. Alongside the chocolatey goodness was the creamiest vanilla ice cream. It’s fair to say that there was nothing left of dessert!

This was a lovely date night for us in a beautiful place with incredible food and I’m not ashamed to admit that I had to unbutton my jeans in the car on the way home because I was so full! We’re already planning to go back with our daughter as it’s a family friendly place and she needs to sample the children’s menu. It’s also dog friendly but there’s no way our Lola would sit quietly whilst we enjoyed a pint- she’s far too lively for that!

I honestly cannot fault The Kingslodge Inn at all, everything was perfect from the friendliness of the staff, the relaxing atmosphere and the perfect food. We can’t wait to go back and try some more dishes from the menu.

If you fancy a look too you can find their special offers on the website here.

Mother Hermit xx

We were invited along to The Kingslodge Inn for a complimentary three-course meal in return for this review. All views, opinions and photographs are that of my own.

LoveNorthEast
5 thoughts on “The Kingslodge Inn- Menu Review

  1. Oh my! That sundae!

    I used to have a very similar routine to your husband in that I’d only ever try the burger wherever I went. It was an excellent meal choice in lots of places and a disappointing one in others.

    Unbuttoning the trousers on the way home is a sure sign of a fab meal – that, and needing a nap!

    Visiting from the #lovenortheast linky

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

